-
damn spam bastards!so....i'm home sick today. trying to shake a weird ear/head thing. i open up my controlledfury email, and about 70 spams come at me.....all bloated with attachments.
but wait!.....they have my address in the 'from' headers!
some ass has decided to commit internet forgery using my domain-name. so i contact my host, send them copies of the emails (which topped out at 114 this afternoon) with the headers.
i got this in response:
(ron's note: please ignore the bizarre syntax....just forgive 'em....they're nice canadians......)
We have identify that those spam email was forged. It was sent from the following IP address:
mail.controlledfury.com [141.153.163.186]
mail.controlledfury.com [138.89.83.74]
It is not possible for us to stop this from happening as the these email are not from our network. We can only notify the owner of IP block 141.153.163.186 and 138.89.83.74 about the issue and have them conduct an investigate on it.
There's nothing we can do as it is not on our network. We will notify the network of that IP block, this doesn't mean that it will stop it from happening. As we have to rely on that network block owner to conduct the investigation and take appropriate action.
I check those IP address and they belong to Verizon Internet Service and Verizon Global Networks.
Below is the search result.
You can go to http://arin.net and enter in the IP address and you will get the result.
[141.153.163.186]
OrgName: Verizon Internet Services
OrgID: VRIS
Address: 1880 Campus Commons Dr
City: Reston
StateProv: VA
PostalCode: 20191
Country: US
NetRange: 141.149.0.0 - 141.158.255.255
CIDR: 141.149.0.0/16, 141.150.0.0/15, 141.152.0.0/14, 141.156.0.0/15, 141.158.0.0/16
NetName: VIS-141-149
NetHandle: NET-141-149-0-0-1
Parent: NET-141-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NSDC.BA-DSG.NET
NameServer: GTEPH.BA-DSG.NET
Comment:
RegDate:
Updated: 2002-08-22
TechHandle: ZV20-ARIN
TechName: Verizon Internet Services
TechPhone: +1-703-295-4583
TechEmail: noc@gnilink.net
OrgAbuseHandle: VISAB-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: VIS Abuse
OrgAbusePhone: +1-703-295-4583
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@verizon.net
OrgTechHandle: ZV20-ARIN
OrgTechName: Verizon Internet Services
OrgTechPhone: +1-703-295-4583
OrgTechEmail: noc@gnilink.net
[138.89.83.74]
OrgName: Verizon Global Networks, Inc.
OrgID: VGBN
Address: 1880 Campus Commons Drive
City: Reston
StateProv: VA
PostalCode: 20191
Country: US
NetRange: 138.89.0.0 - 138.89.255.255
CIDR: 138.89.0.0/16
NetName: VZGNI-PUB-2
NetHandle: NET-138-89-0-0-1
Parent: NET-138-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NSDC.BA-DSG.NET
NameServer: GTEPH.BA-DSG.NET
Comment:
RegDate:
Updated: 2001-06-26
TechHandle: BN-ORG-ARIN
TechName: Verizon Global Networks Inc.
TechPhone: +1-703-295-4583
TechEmail: noc@gnilink.net
so....if you're here trying to figure out why i'm spamming you,....IT'S NOT ME!
i have notified my site host, who has made the spammer's hosts aware of the issue. all we can do now is hope that verizon is willing to hunt out the person(s) responsible and cut them off......at least until they move to another isp........
btw......i threw an opening 'coming soon' page onto angrylittlebitch.com.
kris seems to like it.....
ron